Institute for Black Atlantic Research at UCLAN, Preston hosts two exciting and innovative events

Music and Freedom Symposium
Friday 31 March 2017, 2.00pm – 5.00pm

This event brings together distinguished international academics and dynamic Northern artistic and musical performers for a truly unique event. Leading Civil Rights scholar and author of the landmark text, Just My Soul Responding: Rhythm and Blues, Black Consciousness and Race Relations, Professor Brian Ward from Northumbria University will give the keynote address on “Freedom Sounds: Music and the Civil Rights Movement”. The other academic speaker will be Dr. María Rocío Cobo Piñero from the University of Cadiz whose paper will look at 1920s Jazz and Spanish flappers. Our performance element will showcase the links cotton establishes in the nineteenth century between enslaved Africans and the Lancashire working class using song and dance. This will be delivered by the ballad singer and clog dancer, Manchester-based Jennifer Reid and the black British performance artist Jade Montserrat from Scarborough.
Refreshments available
UCLan Media Innovation Studio (MISt)
Fourth floor, Media Factory
Kirkham Street
Preston
PR1 2HE

Supported by Arts Council England Lottery Funded Grants for the Arts and UCLAN Contemporary Arts Development Group

free event but please sign up to the eventbrite page

https://www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/preston-jam-music-festival-music-and-freedom-symposium-tickets-31486103784
For enquiries contact Rosie on 01772 894106 or RLulat1@uclan.ac.uk
This event is part of the Preston Jam Music Festival (25 March -1 April). See Website for details http://www.uclan.ac.uk/news/preston-jam-2017.php

Slavery, Emancipation and Art – Workshop

20 April 2017

10:00-17:00

Media Innovation Studio, 4th floor the Media Factory, University of Central Lancashire

Preston

PR1 2HE

‘The artist must take sides. He must elect to fight for freedom or slavery. I have made my choice. I had no alternative.’ (Paul Robeson)

We are delighted to invite you to a workshop on Thursday 20th April 2017 examining some of the different ways that slavery and its legacies have figured within the art world.

Art has a long and tangled history in relation to slavery, abolition, emancipation and cultural resistance. Both pro and anti slavery campaigners used art to make public political statements. Slave-based wealth was used to purchase and preserve cultural treasures – some of which can be found in our national and regional galleries and museums today. The legacies of both slavery and empire include complex and often unequal cultural entanglements. Artists and art institutions have been both complicit in and also resistant to slavery and its legacies. For the Black Arts Movement issues of slavery, colonialism, race and racism were key and they used art practice to challenge, subvert and deconstruct ideas of ‘blackness’. This workshop will explore issues of slavery, resistance, emancipation, identity, race and racism, institutions and collections, curatorial voice and authority. Speakers include established and emerging artists, curators and academics and the emphasis of the day will be on debate and discussion. Please join in the conversation!

Programme
10:00-10:30 Registration, tea and coffee
10:30-10:45 Introduction
10:45-11:45 Lubaina Himid<http://www.uclan.ac.uk/staff_profiles/lubaina_himid.php> – Art and archive session (UCLAN / IBAR)
11:45-12:00 Break
12:00-13:00 Panel 1 Artists in Conversation
Wendy Asquith<https://www.nottingham.ac.uk/clas/people/wendy.asquith> (University of Nottingham), Hannah Durkin<http://www.ncl.ac.uk/elll/staff/profile/hannahdurkin.html#background> (University of Newcastle), Kimathi Donkor<http://www.kimathidonkor.net/>, and Joy Gregory<http://www.joygregory.co.uk/>.
13:00-14:00 Lunch
14:00-15:00 Panel 2 Curators in Conversation
Alan Rice<http://www.uclan.ac.uk/staff_profiles/alan_rice.php> (IBAR / UCLAN) and Jean-Francois Manicom<https://www.jfmanicom.com/> (International Slavery Museum).
15:00-16:00 Sarah Thomas<http://www.bbk.ac.uk/art-history/staff/teaching-staff/sarah-thomas>, Birkbeck – Slave-owners and art collecting (Birkbeck)
16:00-16:15 Break
16:15-17:00 Open session to discuss past, present and future projects

Registration is free and lunch and refreshments will be provided.

This event is funded by the British Academy and is a partnership between the Antislavery Usable Past project (University of Nottingham) and the Institute for Black Atlantic Research (University of Central Lancashire).

Book your FREE place here:

Slavery, Emancipation and Art<https://www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/slavery-emancipation-and-art-tickets-32883498429?aff=erelexpmlt>
www.eventbrite.co.uk
<http://www.usablepast.ac.uk/usablepast/index.aspx>